Volume 6, Issue 4, August 2020, Page: 105-112
A Comparative Analysis on Police Related Deaths and Prediction of 2020 Presidential Election
Bon-A Koo, Northfield Mount Hermon School, Gill, United States
Jana Choe, The Governor’s Academy, Newburyport, United States
Yeseo Kim, Lakefield College School, Ontario, Canada
Received: Aug. 19, 2020;       Accepted: Sep. 3, 2020;       Published: Sep. 10, 2020
DOI: 10.11648/j.ijdsa.20200604.12      View  37      Downloads  69
Abstract
The recent death of George Floyd once again reminded the Americans of the chronic racial bias when it comes to police using force during an encounter with an alleged criminal or, in some cases, innocent civilians, and promulgated Black Lives Matter (BLM) movements in the United States. In order to verify such police use of excessive force against a particular racial group, we examined datasets regarding cases of police killings, which were collected from 50 states (and Washington, D. C. separately) across the country. To find out the possible factors that might cause frequent police killings against a particular racial group, we analyzed relevant datasets, observing each state’s demographics, political ideology, education level, and the frequency of police deaths in respect to each state’s frequency of police killings. Although we found numerous factors that might lead such trends in police violence, we discovered a correlation between a state’s political ideology and the frequency of police killings of a particular racial group in the corresponding state. In response to such trends, we evaluated the correlation between each state’s prevalence of police killings and its presidential election outcome in 2016. Using two machine learning methods, random forest and logistic regression, we further predicted each state’s prospective preference toward a particular candidate (Republican or Democrat) and the election outcome of the 2020 presidential election.
Keywords
BLM, Police, Violence, Data Analysis, Machine Learning
To cite this article
Bon-A Koo, Jana Choe, Yeseo Kim, A Comparative Analysis on Police Related Deaths and Prediction of 2020 Presidential Election, International Journal of Data Science and Analysis. Vol. 6, No. 4, 2020, pp. 105-112. doi: 10.11648/j.ijdsa.20200604.12
Copyright
Copyright © 2020 Authors retain the copyright of this article.
This article is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
Reference
[1]
Buchanan, Larry, et al. “Black Lives Matter May Be the Largest Movement in U. S. History.” The New York Times, 8 July 2020, nyti.ms/2D8PhQY.
[2]
Anderson, Monica. “Social Media Conversations About Race.” Pew Research Center: Internet, Science & Tech, Pew Research Center, 30 May 2020, www.pewresearch.org/internet/2016/08/15/social-media-conversations-about-race/.
[3]
Williams, Joseph P. “Study: Police Violence a Leading Cause of Death for Young Men.” U. S. News & World Report, U. S. News & World Report, 5 Aug. 2019, www.usnews.com/news/healthiest-communities/articles/2019-08-05/police-violence-a-leading-cause-of-death-for-young-men.
[4]
Callahan, Molly. “Many People Who Voted in 2016 Were Motivated by the Black Lives Matter Protests. Will the Same Hold True This Year?” News Northeastern, 9 June 2020, news.northeastern.edu/2020/06/09/the-black-lives-matter-protests-motivated-voters-in-2016-will-they-do-the-same-in-2020/.
[5]
Siddiqui, Sabrina. “Donald Trump Strikes Muddled Note on 'Divisive' Black Lives Matter.” The Guardian, Guardian News and Media, 13 July 2016, www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/jul/13/donald-trump-strikes-muddled-note-on-divisive-black-lives-matter.
[6]
“Census Bureau.” Five Thirty Eight, 15 July 2019, fivethirtyeight.com/tag/census-bureau/.
[7]
The Washington Post, WP Company, www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/metro/data/datapost.html.
[8]
Patil, Prasad. “What Is Exploratory Data Analysis?” Medium, Towards Data Science, 23 May 2018, towardsdatascience.com/exploratory-data-analysis-8fc1cb20fd15.
[9]
Daniel Diorio, Ben Williams. “The Electoral College.” National Conference of State Legislatures, 6 July 2020, www.ncsl.org/research/elections-and-campaigns/the-electoral-college.aspx.
[10]
“Presidential Election Results: Donald J. Trump Wins.” The New York Times, The New York Times, 9 Aug. 2017, www.nytimes.com/elections/2016/results/president.
[11]
“President - Live Election Results.” The New York Times, The New York Times, 29 Nov. 2012, www.nytimes.com/elections/2012/results/president.html.
[12]
“Machine Learning: What It Is and Why It Matters.” SAS, www.sas.com/en_us/insights/analytics/machine-learning.html.
[13]
Mangale, Sanchita. “Voting Classifier.” Medium, Medium, 18 May 2019, medium.com/@sanchitamangale12/voting-classifier-1be10db6d7a5.
[14]
Yiu, Tony. “Understanding Random Forest.” Medium, Towards Data Science, 14 Aug. 2019, towardsdatascience.com/understanding-random-forest-58381e0602d2.
[15]
Shetty, Badreesh. “An in-Depth Guide to Supervised Machine Learning Classification.” Built In, 17 July 2019, builtin.com/data-science/supervised-machine-learning-classification.
Browse journals by subject